WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature claims to ‘unsend’ media files such as photos and video mistakenly sent to recipients . whereas, the feature for iOS has not been designed to delete the media files sent to iPhone users
In the case of WhatsApp, the feature is only available within 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds of sending a message you want to delete, which is fine and a fair use case.
However, it turns out that WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature doesn’t delete media files sent to iPhone users as it does from the Android devices, leaving sent files saved on the recipient’s iOS device even if the messenger chat screen displays you, “This message has been deleted.”
According to an application security consultant, who found this privacy issue and shared his findings exclusively with the http://www.thehackernews.com
On the other hand, if you are an Android user, WhatsApp will delete the mistakenly sent media files from the recipient’s gallery as well.